Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn to stay connected with NAA

Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter

Stay in touch. Get all the latest NAA news and events straight to your email.

Please fill in the email box and click the sign up button

    M-Sport secures the FIA World Rally Championships for Drivers, Co-drivers and Manufacturers as well as the Wales Rally GB win

    M-Sport delivered the dream result at the recent Dayinsure Wales Rally GB – securing the FIA World Rally Championships for Drivers, Co-drivers and Manufacturers as well as the rally win.

    As Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia clinched their fifth FIA World Rally Championship title, Elfyn Evans and Daniel Barritt secured an immensely popular maiden victory – a family team from the edge of the English Lake District succeeding against three of the world’s largest automotive manufacturers.

    Team Principal, Malcolm Wilson OBE, said: “It’s been a very emotional day and I have to say that there were a few tears during the last stage – firstly when Ott crossed the line to take the manufacturers’ championship, then when Sébastien took the drivers’, and then again when Elfyn crossed the line to the win on our home event. It really was the Triple Crown, and a very emotional day for all of us.

    “We have a great team of people and their hard work has resulted in something truly amazing. We’ve been on the podium at every event and we’re the only team to have had all three drivers secure a win this year. The Fiesta has proven itself to have the performance and the strength, and that is down to the tireless hours that every single member of the team has put into this incredible achievement.

    “I would also like to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to Sébastien and Julien. When they joined the team at the start of the year, it really was the lift that everyone needed. They’ve had a really important influence on all of us, and all of us are extremely proud of what we have achieved together with them, Ott, Martin, Elfyn and Dan.”

    Elfyn Evans and Daniel Barritt secured their maiden win in style. Claiming nine stage victories, the pairing dominated their home event and were in a class of their own through the tricky conditions.

    As the first British pairing to win the event since Richard Burns and Robert Reid in 2000, Evans is also the very first Welsh driver to win the British round of the FIA World Rally Championship.

    Elfyn Evans (1st) said: “I’m feeling pretty good, and just about managed to keep the tears away at the podium. It’s been a really long and difficult weekend, so this one feels good and it was made all the more special when you combine it with everything the team has achieved today.

    “Already after Shakedown, we knew if the conditions played into our hands then the speed was there to challenge for the victory. As the weekend went on, I felt that it was always in my reach, but this is an event you can never predict. A clean run with no punctures, spins or mistakes is very difficult. It’s all about finding the right balance and I think that’s what we managed to achieve this weekend.

    “I’m definitely hungry for more wins now, so let’s wait and see what next year has in store. Now that I have felt this feeling, it’s one that I would like to repeat!”


    1  Elfyn Evans / Daniel Barritt (Ford Fiesta WRC) 2:57:00.
    2  Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai 120 Coupe WRC) +37.3
    3  Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (Ford Fiesta WRC) +45.2
    4  Andreas Mikkelsen / Ander Jaeger (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +49.8
    5  Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (Toyota Yaris WRC) +50.3
    6  Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja (Ford Fiesta WRC) +1:02.3
    7  Kris Meeke / Paul Nagle (Citroen C3 WRC) +1:20.5
    8  Hayden Paddon / Sebastian Marshall (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +2:16.3
    9  Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (Toyota Yaris WRC) +2:46.5
    10 Dani Sordo / Marc Marti (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +3:50.5


    1  Sébastien Ogier – 215
    2  Thierry Neuville – 183
    3  Ott Tänak – 169
    4  Jari-Matti Latvala – 136
    5  Elfyn Evans – 118
    6  Dani Sordo – 95
    7  Juha Hänninen – 71
    8  Kris Meeke – 70
    9  Craig Breen – 64
    10 Hayden Paddon – 59


    1  M-Sport World Rally Team – 398
    2  Hyundai Motorsport – 305
    3  Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC – 241
    4  Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team – 210

    European Regional Development Fund Northern Powerhouse
    Partners Department for Business Innovation and Skills Finance Birmingham